Category Archives: Books

A Tragic But Beautiful Love Story Born of the Turbulent 60’s

Coming Soon:
Take a Left at Tomorrow

Scheduled for Release November 15, 2021

“Something had gone seriously wrong in the land where everyone was supposed to be equal and free. These days, all we had to do to lose our rights and become the enemy was speak out against the war.”

To Joey Dean, Kit Griffith is everything—every possibility and joy in the whole wide world. And then he is gone, to a place no one can pronounce and a war no one can understand. When he returns, he is changed in every way, is a man at war with his memories, his wounds, and his government. But Joey, who now has her own mission, believes love is all they need. She has yet to realize that in a world where cities, draft cards, and bras are burning, dreams as well as tear gas are in the wind.

On the frontlines of America’s social revolution during the Vietnam war era, Joey must learn the truth about love, changing times, and her own dreams.

Set amidst the social and political tumult of the late sixties, this novel depicts the complicated love shared by Kit Griffith and Joey Dean, two mid-western kids on the cusp of adulthood, each carrying wounds and ambitions that both propel and hobble their relationship.  Renee Anduze tells their story in a well-wrought narrative, filled with beautiful language, stunning imagery, and an array of characters right out of the Sixties.  If you lived through this dramatic history of our country, you will be impressed with her deft portrayal of the times.  The chapter on the Woodstock Festival alone is well worth the price of admission.  If you missed those times (for better or for worse), you will be wisely instructed in the challenges, paradoxes, and hopes they gave us.  ~ Lezlie Laws, Ph.D.—Twelve Doors: Writing for Pleasure, Self-Expression, and Insight; TIA Journal; Shifting Gears, Editor

About the Author:
Renée Anduze holds an MFA in Writing from Spalding University and a BA in English from Rollins College (summa cum laude). She has worked as a professional writer and editor for nearly 20 years—five of them at Rollins College. Her work has appeared in national magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and online. She has won several writing awards, including three Royal Palm Literary Awards. Her poetry is published in Rollins Book of Verse 1885–2010. Renée has taught and tutored upper-level English and participated in Bread Loaf and many other major workshop conferences. She is a member of the Association of Writers & Writing Programs, Florida Writers Association, Sigma Tau Delta International English Honor Society, and Alpha Sigma Lambda National Honor Society. Find her at ReneeAnduze.com.

 

Dorothy Allison to Select Winner of Twisted Road Publications Short Fiction Contest

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. —(April 8, 2015) Are you twisted? Twisted Road Publications announced on the first day of the Association of Writing Programs (AWP) Conference that it is celebrating the great storytelling tradition of the American South with a contest aimed at finding the next William Faulkner, Flannery O’Connor, Carson McCullers, or Tennessee Williams. Winners will receive cash prizes and publication in a Southern Gothic short story anthology to publish in 2016.

For Twisted Road Publications, “Southern Gothic” refers to the southern literary tradition of gritty and sometimes disturbing tales examining the lives of flawed or marginalized characters that point out the conflicts and contradictions of society. Call it Southern Gothic, Grit-Lit, Rough South, or simply weird. Entries do not necessarily have to be set in the south, nor do authors need to be of southern origin or residence. Salem, Mass., author Nathaniel Hawthorne’s The Scarlet Letter, for example, set in New England, certainly fits the bill.

allison1-133x180Bestselling author Dorothy Allison will select the final winners of the Twisted Road Publications Southern Gothic Fiction Short Story Anthology Contest.

Allison’s first novel “Bastard out of Carolina” was a finalist for a National Book Award, won an ALA Award and became an award-winning movie. She has won numerous other awards and was described by the Boston Globe as “one of the finest writers of her generation”.

In 1998, Allison founded The Independent Spirit Award, a prize given each year to an individual whose work with small presses and independent bookstores has helped to sustain that enterprise. She also serves on the Advisory board of the National Coalition Against Censorship and Feminists for Free Expression, and the advisory board of the James Tiptree Jr. Memorial Award, a prize that is presented annually to a science fiction or fantasy work that explores and expands on contemporary ideas of gender.

For contest rules and submission guidelines visit our Contests page.

Sneak Peek Our First Release of 2015: Sewing Holes

Here are some of the things advance readers have said about Sewing Holes, due to release on March 23rd.  And here is the video trailer to give you a sneak peek:  Sewing Holes Videocvr

Connie May Fowler, Author of Before Women had Wings and
How Clarissa Burden Learned to Fly
“With infinite grace, Sewing Holes explores love and loss, spirituality and crisis, redemption and forgiveness. Honey is a mesmerizing character who tells her story with such plucky, clear-eyed, no-nonsense wisdom that you never want the novel to end. Darlyn Finch Kuhn has written one fine, uplifting debut novel. Read it, celebrate it, and buy copies for your friends, for this is a book that reminds us what the true nature of love is all about.”

Sena Jeter Naslund, Author of Ahab’s Wife, Four Spirits, Abundance, and The Fountain of St. James Court, or, Portrait of the Artist as an Old Woman
“In her debut novel Sewing Holes, Darlyn Finch Kuhn has written an authentic and touching account of growing up in the 1970s that ties life in Jacksonville, Florida, to the national traumas of that era. Despite her tempestuous home environment, young Honey strives to reach adulthood with her honest heart and loving spirit intact. It’s a generous tale of maturation that all young girls and their mothers and fathers should read. Sewing Holes helped me to a greater understanding of my own childhood and youth.”

Bob Kealing, Author of Calling Me Home; Tupperware, Unsealed; and Kerouac in Florida
“In the tradition of Carson McCullers and Rick Bragg, Darlyn Finch Kuhn writes with an acute sense of romanticism, confusion and heartache that is childhood and family life in the American South.  Her flair for detail helps the reader understand why it is such a definitive place.”